Jan. 19, 2022 Confirmed



Election for Barbadian House of Assembly

More Info:

At stake in this election: 

  • All 30 seats in the House of Assembly (lower house) [1]. 

Description of government structure [2]: 

  • Chief of State: President Sandra MASON (since 30 November 2021) 

  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Mia MOTTLEY (since 25 May 2018) 

  • Assembly: Barbados has a bicameral Parliament. The Upper House, or the Senate, has 21 seats*. The Lower House, the House of Assembly, has 30 seats.  

Description of electoral system [2]: 

  • The President is elected by an electoral college of both Houses of Parliament for a four-year renewable term*. 

  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President and is usually the leader of the majority party or coalition.  

  • Members of the Senate (Upper House) are appointed by the President (12 on the advice of the Prime Minister, 2 on the advice of the opposition leader, and 7 at the discretion of the President).  

  • Members of the House of Assembly (Lower House) are directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote to serve 5-year terms. 

*Note: Barbados elected to become a republic and remove the Queen of England as the Chief of State on November 30th, 2021 [3].  

Last Election: 

  • The last House of Assembly elections were held on May 24th, 2018. 153,745 votes were cast (60% voter turnout). The Barbados Labor Party won 30 seats (72.83% of the vote) and the Democratic Labour Party won 0 seats but 33,985 votes (22.10% of the vote) [4]. 

Main parties in this election: 

  • Barbados Labour Party  

  • Leader: Mia MOTTLEY 

  • Seats won in last election: 30 of 30 

  • Democratic Labour Party 

  • Leader: Verla DE PEIZA 

  • Seats won in last election 0 out of 30 

  • Alliance Party for Progress (PdP-UPP)** 

  • Leader: Joseph ATHERLEY 

  • Seats won in last election: 0 out of 30 

  • Solutions Barbados  

  • Leader: Grenville PHILLIPS II  

  • Seats won in last election: 0 out of 30 

  • Bajan Free Party 

  • Leader: Alex MITCHELL 

  • Seats won in last election: 0 out of 30 

  • New Barbados Kingdom Alliance** 

  • Leader: Apostle Lynroy SCANTLEBURY 

  • Seats won in last election: 0 out of 30 

  • Barbados Sovereignty Party** 

  • Leader: Philip CATLYN 

  • Seats won in last election: 0 out of 30 

*Note: there are also a number of candidates running without a party affiliation: Melissa TAITT, Omar SMITH, Wayne BECKLES, Buddy LARRIER, Donald LEACOCK, Brian TALMA, Samuel MAYNARD, Erskine ALLEYNE, Joseph JORDAN, and Fallon BEST.  

**Note: this is a new party established for the 2022 election.  

Population and number of registered voters:  

  • Population: 301, 865 (as of July 2021) [2] 

  • Registered Voters: 255,833 (as of 2018) [5] 

Gender Data: 

  • Female Population: 148,000 (2019 est.) [6] 

  • Is Barbados a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (signed 24 July 1980) 

  • Has Barbados ratified CEDAW: Yes (ratified 16 October 1980) [7] 

  • Gender Quota: Not available 

  • Female candidates in this election: Yes 

  • Number of Female Legislators: 6 out of 30 [12] 

  • Human Development Index Position: 0.814 (Ranked 58) [8] 

  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Not Available [9] 

Disability Data: 

  • Is Barbados a signatory to CRPD: Yes (signed 19 July 2007) 

  • Has Barbados ratified CRPD: Yes (ratified 27 February 2013) [10] 

  • Population with a disability: 43,591 (2021 est.) [11]