March 19, 2021 Confirmed


Country of Curacao

Election for Staten van Curacao (Estates of Curacao)

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 21 seats in the Staten van Curaçao (Estates of Curaçao)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King WILLEM-ALEXANDER (since 30 April 2013); represented by Governor Lucille A. GEORGE-WOUT (since 4 November 2013)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Eugene RHUGGENAATH (since 29 May 2017)
  • Assembly: Curaçao has a unicameral Staten van Curaçao (Estates of Curaçao) composed of 21 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • Members of the Estates of Curaçao are directly elected by proportional representation vote to serve 4-year terms.

Note: To be eligible to contest parliamentary elections, political parties that are not represented in parliament are required to compete in a pre-election round of voting and must receive at least 1% of the valid votes cast in the previous parliamentary election.