Dec. 7, 2020 Confirmed


Republic of Ghana

Election for President

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • The office of president of the Republic of Ghana

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Nana AKUDO-ADDO (since 7 January 2017)
  • Head of Government: President Nana AKUDO-ADDO (since 7 January 2017)
  • Assembly: Ghana has a unicameral Parliament composed of 275 seats with members serving 4-year terms.

Description of electoral system:

  • The president is directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 4-year term, with eligibility for a second term.