Feb. 21, 2013 Confirmed

Registered to Vote


Election for Barbadian Senate

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 30 seats in the House of Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Freundel STUART
  • Assembly: Barbados has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senate with 21 seats and the House of Assembly with 30 seats.

* The Queen is represented by Governor General Sir Eliot BELGRAVE.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is hereditary head of state.
  • In the Senate 21 members are appointed by the governor-general. In the House of Assembly 30 members are elected by direct vote to serve 5-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: Barbados Labor Party (BLP)
    Leader: Owen Seymour ARTHUR
    Seats won in last House of Assembly election: 10
  • Party: Democratic Labor Party (DLP)
    Leader: Freundel STUART
    Seats won in last House of Assembly election: 20

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 287,733 (December 2012 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 235,510 (January 2008 )