Independent State of Samoa

198,909 5

Population (as of Feb. 8, 2019)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Samoan Legislative Assembly Fono Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Chief TUIATUA Tupua Tamasese Efi
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister TUILA'EPA Lupesoliai Sailele Malielegaoi
  • Assembly: Samoa has a unicameral Legislative Assembly (Fono) with 49 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Chief is elected by parliament.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the president with the approval of the parliament.
  • In the Legislative Assembly (Fono), 35 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 14 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms. There are seven multi-member constituencies with two seats each. One of these is reserved for part-and non-Samoans. Electors cast two votes in these districts. An amendment was passed to the electoral law in 2013 reserving 5 seats in Parliament for female candidates.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Samoan Legislative Assembly 2001-03-02 76,811 93,213 82.4%
Samoan Legislative Assembly 2006-03-31 81,608 79,284 102.93%
Samoan Legislative Assembly 2011-03-04 - 100,810 -
Samoan Legislative Assembly 2016-03-04 81,656 116,000 -
Samoan Legislative Assembly 2021-04-09 - - -

Voter Turnout