Macau Special Administrative Region

682,500 5

Population (as of Aug. 30, 2021)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Chinese Legislative Council (Macau) Região Administrativa Especial de Macau Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President of China XI Jinping
  • Head of Government: Chief Executive HOT Iat-Seng 
  • Assembly: Macau has a unicameral Legislative Council (Região Administrativa Especial de Macau) with 33 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President of China is elected by the National People's Congress to serve a 5-year term; The President dictates foreign policy and military affairs for the Macau SAR. 
  • Chief Executive is elected by an electoral college to serve a 5-year term, renewable for one further term. 
  • In the Legislative Council (Região Administrativa Especial de Macau), 14 members are elected through a party-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms, 12 members are elected by special interest groups to serve 4-year terms and 7 members are appointed by the chief executive to serve 4-year terms.  
  • Macau does not have functional constituencies representing particular commercial or professional sectors. Instead, there are four broad sectors that elect ten Legislative Assembly’s indirect-elected seats. Industrial, Commercial and Financial Sector, Labor Sector, Professional Sector, and Social Services, Cultural (including Religion), Educational and Sports Sector. Based on past experience, the four sectors have always reached an internal consensus on single slates of candidates. Electoral reform measures for electing the Macau Chief Executive passed in 2014 increased the Election Commission to 400 seats. 
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Chinese Legislative Council (Macau) 2005-09-25 128,830 220,653 58.39%
Chinese Legislative Council (Macau) 2009-09-20 149,006 248,708 59.91%
Chinese Legislative Council (Macau) 2013-09-15 151,881 276,034 55.02%
Chinese Legislative Council (Macau) 2017-09-17 174,872 305,615 57.22%
Chinese Legislative Council (Macau) 2021-09-12 - - -

Voter Turnout