Oct. 17, 2019 Confirmed



Election for Gibraltarian Parliament

More Info:

At Stake in this Election:       

  • 17 seats in the Parliament.

Government Structure:

  • Head of State: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor Lt. Gen. Edward DAVIS (since 19 January 2016)[1]
  • Head of Government: Chief Minister, Fabian PICARDO (since 9 December 2011)
  • Assembly: Gibraltar has a unicameral Parliament composed of 18 seats with members serving 4-year terms.

Electoral System:

  • In the Parliament, 17 members are directly elected in a single nationwide constituency by majority vote, and 1 is appointed by Parliament as speaker. Members serve 4-year terms.

Main Parties in this Election:

  • Party: Together Gibraltar
    • Leader: Marlene Hassan Nahon
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Party: Gibraltar Social Democrats (GSD)
    • Leader: Keith Azopardi
    • Seats won in last election: 7
  • Alliance: Gibraltar Socialist Labor Party-Liberals (GSLP)
    • Leader: Fabian Picardo
    • Seats won in last election: 10*

* In the previous election, Gibraltar Socialist Labor Party (GSLP) won 7 seats, and the Gibraltar Liberal party (GLP) won 3 seats[2].

Population and Registered Voters:

  • Population: 34,000 (2019 est.)[3]
  • Registered Voters: 23,278 (2015 est.)[4]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 14,674 (2018 est.)[5]
  • Is GIBRALTAR a signatory to CEDAW: N/A
  • Has GIBRALTAR ratified CEDAW: N/A
  • Gender Quota: No
  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Legislators: 2[6]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: N/A
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

  • Is GIBRALTAR a signatory to CRPD: N/A
  • Has GIBRALTAR ratified CRPD: N/A
  • Population with a disability: 4,389 (2019 est.)[7]