French Polynesia

Overseas Lands of French Polynesia

285,321 2

Population (as of July 1, 2016)

Elections in our database

191,799 69.07%

Registered Voters (as of May 1, 2013)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Assembly of French Polynesia Assemblée de la Polynésie Française Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Francois HOLLANDE *
  • Head of Government: President Edouard FRITCH (since 12 September 2014) **
  • Assembly: French Polynesia has a unicameral Assembly of French Polynesia (Assemblée de la Polynésie Française) with 57 seats.

* Represented by the High Commissioner of the Republic Rene BIDALL.

** The president of the territorial government and the president of the Territorial Assembly are elected by the members of the assembly for five-year terms with no term limits.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • President is elected by parliament.
  • In the Assembly of French Polynesia (Assemblée de la Polynésie Française) 57 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms. There are 6 electoral districts with magnitudes ranging from 3 to 37.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Assembly of French Polynesia 2013-04-21 129,389 195,835 66.07%
Assembly of French Polynesia 2013-05-05 138,202 191,799 72.06%

Voter Turnout