Republic of Angola

20,172,332 2

Population (as of July 1, 2016)

Elections in our database

9,757,671 75.07%

Registered Voters (as of Aug. 1, 2012)

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Angolan National Assembly Assembleia Nacional Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Jose Eduardo DOS SANTOS
  • Head of Government: President Jose Eduardo DOS SANTOS
  • Assembly: Angola has a unicameral National Assembly (Assembleia Nacional) with 220 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected as the leader of the party who received the most votes in National Assembly to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Assembleia Nacional) 220 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.***

*** There are 18 provinces that elects 5 members, and one national constituency with 130 seats.

Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Angolan National Assembly 2008-09-05 7,213,281 8,256,854 87.36%
Angolan National Assembly 2012-08-31 6,124,669 9,757,671 62.77%

Voter Turnout