30,949,962 5

Population (as of July 1, 2016)

Elections in our database


Registered Voters (as of )

Average Turnout

Name Official Name Type
Malaysian House of Representatives Dewan Rakyat Lower House
Malaysian Senate Dewan Negara Upper House

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King MUHAMMAD V
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Mohamed NAJIB bin Abdul Najib Razak
  • Assembly: Malaysia has a bicameral Parliament (Parlimen 马来西亚国会) consisting of the Senate (Dewan Negara) with 70 seats and the House of Representatives (Dewan Rakyat) with 222 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The King is elected by hereditary state rulers to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is designated by parliament.
  • In the Senate (Dewan Negara), 44 members are appointed by the monarch to serve 3-year terms with a two-term limit and 26 members are elected by the state legislatures to serve 3-year terms. In the House of Representatives (Dewan Rakyat) 222 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.
Info Institutions Learn More


Election For Date Votes Registered Voters Turn Out
Malaysian House of Representatives 1999-11-29 6,655,348 9,694,156 68.65%
Malaysian House of Representatives 2004-03-21 7,209,948 9,756,097 73.9%
Malaysian House of Representatives 2008-03-08 7,944,274 10,922,139 72.74%
Malaysian House of Representatives 2013-05-05 11,226,133 13,268,002 84.61%
Malaysian House of Representatives 2018-05-09 - - -

Voter Turnout